A holiday with a mixed feeling

What a holiday!!
Just got back from my 8 days holiday with Hugo, Viktor and Jany.
We went to Albufeira, Portugal, a touristic city by the beach with a burning temperature!!

Overall it was a very nice and relaxing holiday (with a mixed feeling during and after the holiday).
Almost everyday (in the afternoon of course) we were sunbathing on the beach!!!
Well okay, half sunbathing for me and Jany, since we were sitting under the umbrella.
We were the only (already) brown skinned people there and I guess I was the only Indonesian!
However, it was nice…laying on the beach doing nothing but eating pringles, looking at people and when it got really hot dived into the sea to chill out…..ah heaven!!
At nite we had dinner by the beach with good food (sorry couldn’t say great because the great seafood is still the one in Makassar!), strolled along the city or the beach, sat by the beach, or sat at the balcony and chat.
So relaxing…miss it already…

However for me it was a holiday with a mixed feeling…
the 8 days could somehow felt short and at the same time felt long as well.
For the first few days I was feeling a little left out, well for one simple reason: they were talking in Dutch and my Dutch failed me, no matter how much I tried to understand them, I could barely follow the conversation… and it sucks!
And worse, it continued for a couple of days.
And since I’m such a bad follower, I hated not knowing where we were going and what were the plan.
I finally talked to Hugo and he said it would be okay within few days, I’d be more relaxed then.
So that, the left out feeling plus the little “drama” had made me really want to go home instead!
Perhaps I was expecting a little bit too much though.

But luckily, after a night of contemplation, swimming my thought out and tried to indicate the problem (talking to myself using my brain instead of my emotion).
Finally I came to my senses and surprisingly I managed to pull my self together.
Indeed it was not that easy, but I made it (or at least I guess I made it)!!
At the end I was could enjoy the vacation, I was having a good time with myself, with the four of us (and sometimes with the two of us, right?).

There was nothing compared to swimming in the sea. That is one of the best way to contemplate because there were only me and the sea…
I could talked to myself or even shout at myself and swam my heart and my thought out.
Next to the swimming, walking on the wet sands, barefoot, with waves brushing my feet from time to time brought a soothing and relaxing feeling…
Unfortunately the sun was not setting to the sea, so no romantic sunset this time.
However, a sitting by the beach at nite just us, watching the stars and the moon, plus the sounds of the waves crashing onto the beach…was just perfect!!
at nite laying on my bed I could hear the sounds of the waves and the smell of the sea..
that plus cups of coffee in the morning at the balcony or at the cafe near beach, some chat and watching people… again what a perfect life !!
All of those had made me realize how small is a human being compare to the see and everything else on earth, and therefore there are many (many) things that just beyond our control..
Just live your life, do your best, let it happen and celebrate your life!

So despite the drama, which then I found out was a PMS after all (what a relief! I almost thought that I couldn’t control myself anymore),overall I can say that I had a nice time in Albufeira.
Nice people, nice food, nice place, burning weather, and nice companies..

Even though I hate leaving Portugal, it feels good to be back in Amsterdam…
Yes it is true that now I should be getting back to work, start worrying about the housing problem and the verhuizen (oh I hate that!!) but…the most important thing is that I got a feeling that everything is gonna be okay (and I hope it will be!)
From now on, I will focus on the important things, and for the rest (including Love) will eventually come along.

-Nana-

PS: For you who had convince me to go.
If you read this, I just want to thank you for everything, including for convincing me to go and being there when I was down (sorry for those little drama)
Answering ur question the other day, my answer would be yes I would definitely go!
So next destination?? 🙂


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment